2017/2018 – De Montfort Hall, Leicester – Programmes subject to change

Saturday 25th November 2017, 7.30pm


A programme of pieces to commemorate 50 years since the death of Sir Malcolm Sargent, founder of the Leicester Symphony Orchestra.

Conductor: John Andrews
Baritone: James Oldfield

Programme to include:

Britten The Young Person’s Guide to the Orchestra
Sargent Impression on a Windy Day
Gilbert and Sullivan selection including Overture to Iolanthe
Borodin Nocturne
Bach Air on a G string

6.30pm FREE pre-concert talk on The LSO and Sir Malcolm Sargent

Sunday 25th February 2018, 3.00pm


Conductor: John Andrews

A family concert including:
Prokofiev Peter and the Wolf
Rossini William Tell overture
Grieg Hall of the Mountain King
Rimsky-Korsakov Flight of the Bumble Bee
and music from films and TV – Jaws, Harry Potter, Born Free, Paddington

Saturday 19th May 2018, 7.30pm


Conductor: John Andrews
Piano: Simon Callaghan

Shostakovich Festive Overture
Mussorgsky Night on a Bare Mountain
Medtner Piano Concerto No. 3
Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 5

6.30pm FREE pre-concert talk