Leicester Symphony Orchestra will be playing our Gala Concert at De Montfort Hall in October, celebrating the 100th anniversary of our first concert in October 1922!

Leicester Symphony Orchestra will bring its centenary celebrations to a climax with a special Gala Concert on Saturday 22nd October at De Montfort Hall, Leicester (7.30pm start).

The concert is being staged just two days away from the actual centenary of the orchestra’s first concert in the same venue with founding conductor Malcolm (later Sir Malcolm) Sargent, which was held on October 24th 1922.

And the programme will include a range of favourite pieces from over the orchestra’s history, and a specially commissioned piece “Happy Birthday Variations” by Leicester composer Kirby Spencer.

Of his piece, Kirby says: “I want to showcase LSO for what it is and has been for the past 100 years – a collection of the best musicians that the region has to offer.

“The piece showcases each of the four sections individually – the woodwind, percussion, brass and then strings – before bringing them all together in the finale”.

Among the favourites the orchestra will play is Edward Elgar’s Nimrod, which featured prominently in the music performed to mark the death of Queen Elizabeth II.

Other favourites include Sibelius’ ‘Finlandia’; the Adagio from Spartacus by Khachaturian; Barber’s Adagio for Strings; The Swan Lake Waltz by Tchaikovsky and the intermezzo from Cavalleria Rusticana by Mascagni.

The orchestra will be joined by bagpiper Kal Vaikla for Maxwell Davies ‘An Orkney wedding with sunrise’.

Tickets for the concert are on sale now.

Saturday 22 October 2022, 7:30pm • De Montfort Hall

Gala concert

Conductor: John AndrewsGala concert

A concert of classical favourites, including:

Sibelius – Finlandia

Khatchaturian – Spartacus Adagio

Elgar – Nimrod

Sullivan – Yeoman of the Guard Overture

Tchaikovsky – Swan Lake Waltz

and many more…

Gala Concert Poster landscape

Gala Concert Poster portrait