Vaughan Williams Charitable Trust

Vaughan Williams Charitable Trust

Leicester Symphony Orchestra celebrates 150th Anniversary of the birth of Ralph Vaughan Williams

Leicester Symphony Orchestra is 100 this year. To celebrate our centenary, we are performing a wide range of music written during the past 100 years in Leicester’s fantastic De Montfort Hall.

We are delighted to be able to link our celebrations with the celebration of the birth of Ralph Vaughan Williams and welcome one of the world’s greatest oboe players, Nicholas Daniel, to perform the Vaughan Williams Oboe concerto on Sunday 22 May.

Nicholas was the Leicester Symphony Orchestra president from 1998 to 2002 and then our conductor until 2005. We are really looking forward to welcoming him back to the stage with us, this time as our guest soloist.

The concerto was written towards the end of the second world war and inspired by the playing of Leon Goossens, to whom it is dedicated, and who gave its first performance in Liverpool on 30 September 1944.

Sunday 22 May 2022, 3:00pm • De Montfort Hall

Nicholas Daniel

Nicholas Daniel

New Horizons

Conductor: Quentin Clare

The programme will include:

  • Four Sea Interludes Britten
  • Oboe Concerto Vaughan Williams – with soloist Nicholas Daniel
  • Symphony No.5 Shostakovich


Tickets on sale now.