Leicester Symphony Orchestra is delighted to announce the support of the University of Leicester for the start of its 100th season this autumn. The University of Leicester is also celebrating its centenary this year.

100th season

LSO’s 100th season

The LSO, which was founded by Sir Malcolm Sargent in 1922, will return to De Montfort Hall on 23 October for a spirited start to the season, Celebrating Music of the Past 100 Years, alongside the Leicester Philharmonic Choir and the Leicester Cathedral Children’s Choir.

Sir Malcolm Sargent was appointed head of the fledgling music department of the newly-formed University College Leicester in 1921, which would later develop into the University of Leicester.

Jenny Hand, cellist and chair of Leicester Symphony Orchestra, said: “We are absolutely to be delighted to be back playing again and very much look forward to a live audience. We are thrilled that we have been able to work with the University of Leicester on this concert which launches both our centenaries.

“We chose to celebrate our 100th year in De Montfort Hall with a wide range of music written and performed in the past 100 years. Carmina with its two choirs and triple wind is certainly going to be a rousing start.”

As well as Carmina Burana, the programme will include Shostakovich piano concerto No 2, with soloist Antonina Suhanova, plus a piece by local Leicester composer Ruth Martin which celebrates the legacy of King Richard III.

Tickets for the Leicester Symphony Orchestra’s performance on 23 October are available at demontforthall.co.uk.

Saturday 23 October 2021, 7.30pm • De Montfort Hall


Conductor: John Andrews

Orff:        Carmina Burana

Leicester Philharmonic Choir with soloists Gillian Ramm (soprano), Mark Wilde (tenor), Marcus Farnsworth (baritone) and Leicester Cathedral children’s choir

Shostakovich:   Piano Concerto No. 2       Soloist: Antonina Suhanova

Ruth Martin:        Richard III

Book tickets here.

Further information here.